Helen and Jaye

Helen and Jaye appreciate your helpful comments.

We offer an informal relaxed style of accommodation and take pride in our customer relations.

If you have any problems during your stay please discuss with us straight away so that we can make any repairs or correct the fault.

We welcome any positive comments on tripadvisor, they help our position in search engines which in turn helps keeps our costs to you down.

Some recent reviews :

Short break for walking on the beautiful North Devon Coast. Friendly welcome, comfortable room on the ground floor, choice of wholesome food for breakfast. Good wifi and TV (who needs them!) and a lovely area to explore. Bissel Nov 2016

Stayed for four nights at Twitchen Farm and fell in love with the area. Truly stunning views from our bedroom and bathroom. We took our sons dog with us on the holiday and it is a really dog friendly place. Very comfy, clean room. Excellent breakfast, very very good quality produce- sausages in a class of their own! Very friendly owners and staff. Lynne Sept 2016

Friendly, welcoming and knowledgeable. In a beautiful setting with easy access to Exmoor and a short walk to a first rate local pub.We stayed in a large family room. Breakfast was very good indeed. I would heartily recommend. Michael B, June 2016

Not my first visit, but the first time I have taken my grandchildren. they are aged 6 and 4 years. They really enjoyed the stay and loved the breakfast. We had dinner at the local pub which is always a good experience. Chris B June 2016

This was our third visit to the farm. Set in a beautiful location in Exmoor it provides an ideal base for walking and visiting surrounding areas. Our room was comfortable and warm with a decent sized bathroom. Breakfast was delicious with a large menu supporting local produce. It filled us up for the day. The owners, Helen and Jayne are perfect hosts and appear at just the right time to take your breakfast order or answer any queries. Will definitely return when visiting North Devon again. Sara, Cardiff Feb 2016

Returning home to Devon after a decade away. We has a fabulous stay with a really personal touch. Breakfast was delicious! My family an I enjoyed the lovely walks through the country side. It really was for be w trip back in time. It is really close to many Devon attractions, including Lee Bay which I love. Hope to return soon. Ohio, Nov 2015

A quick mail to thank you so much for a lovely stay at Twitchen Farm.  We loved our short break on Exmoor and look forward to doing it again if you will have us.  Perhaps next time I might get to have a ride out over the moor.  Loads of love, Ann & Nigel Oct 2015

Our second visit to Twitchen Farm by 15 members of Reading Rambling Club. We had used the location four years ago and again this October. In all aspects they surpassed our expectations. Most room were newly decorated, some with refurbished bathrooms, Breakfast was their usual excellent standard and Black Venus pub just down the road provided the evening meals. Modern TV's in all rooms and WiFi as standard. Good local knowledge and advice of all walks particularly Exmoor and South West Coastal Path . Black Venus does not allow reservations ( due to space and popularity with locals) but found ways of accommodating us all. We eat as a group yet had individual bills with no fuss or bother. Wide menu choices with significant local produce so all tastes were catered for . Highly recommended. Oct 2015

The room was AMAZING, the breakfast was phenomenal, your advise was spot on, your dog was huge and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.  Thank you again   Aug 2015 Jazz and Mark

Best of Exmoor, Excellent accommodation. Freindly helpful staff. Great breakfast made from only local produce. Room clean and spacious with comfortable bed. Local pub a short walk away for great food and drink. Will go back   July 2014  Ray   Glos

What a find! This is a fantastic B&B on Exmoor within striking distance of Lynton, Woolacombe and Barnstaple. The rooms are large and comfortable and the views are stunning. We stayed 2 nights with our dogs and had a really lovely time. The breakfasts are superb and really set you up for the day. The pub is within walking distance and welcomes dogs. Can't wait to go back again.                            June 2014

Another visit to the farm , could not fault it, lovely breakfast great hosts, would recommend to anybody. The position is great, good walks lovely pub nearby We will certainly be returning for another break.        June 2014   Ann   Yeovil

Webbers minibus

May Bank Holiday Weekend - walking group organised by Patricia P, on their way to The Exmoor Forest Inn, making good use of Challacombe's own taxi/minibus service.

Spent 3 lovely nights at Twitchen having visited numerous times over the last 10 years. Would never stay anywhere else when visiting Devon. Can't recommend highly enough, our two Labradors had a great time too! Great local pub (Black Venus Inn) walkable distance. What more can you ask?                 April 2014  Carola         Reading

We had an absolutely lovely long weekend in Exmoor staying at Twitchen Farm B&B. The accommodation was ideal with fantastic views. We wanted accommodation that was dog friendly and this farm was very welcoming and there was plenty of space for our very energetic labrador to have some freedom. We also wanted somewhere that was within easy drive of both Exmoor and the coast and this fit the brief perfectly. Breakfast was wonderful and we couldn't have asked for more - best breakfast we have ever had at a B&B. The farm buildings are very unusual - such a special place. The Black Venus pub offered lovely food at reasonable prices and we were able to walk there and take the dog. GREAT!                                                                                October 2013  Vanessa    Southampton

We have just returned from a lovely, relaxing stay at Twitchen Farm. We were so impressed everything about this place, it has a really laid back relaxed atmosphere whilst bring immaculately clean and really well run. Our room (Moles Chamber) was ideal for us as a family of four with our two dogs, the room has no view but makes up for this with a lovely cosy feel and super comfy beds, there was plenty of space for us all, having a sofa as well as the three beds and a lovely large en suite shower room. The breakfast was wonderful, it was so nice to have fresh fruit each day including wonderful natural yoghurt with strawberries and organic gluten free muesli, the cooked breakfast was also delicious. The clearly marked farm walks were ideal for and our dogs and the local area has so much to offer, we will definitely return soon, my son said that it was the best place he'd ever stayed!                   August 2013   Goodwin family

Thank you so much for making our first (but not the last!) trip to Exmoor so memorable. Twitchen Farm is a very special place. Thank you for making us feel so welcome and thank you for pointing us in the direction of such wonderful walks. We look forward to returning to Twitchen Farm in the future.                   July 2013        Carolyn and Christopher     Pottsville, PA   U.S.A

                                                                                                                                                                                              My family and I booked almost every room at Twitchen Farm for a long weekend in May 2013. I really couldn't fault anything about it - the surroundings were beautiful, the rooms were clean, comfortable and characterful and the breakfasts were yummy. It was also great for us that there were plenty of communal spaces inside and out that we could use as a family. The owners were nothing but friendly and welcoming as were the lovely dogs and cat! I would recommend Twitchen Farm unreservedly.                                                                                                                                                           Payne Family         June 2013                                                               

 

 We were saddle weary having ridden from East Sussex passing Stone Henge and Cheddar Gorge, about 200 miles. We were unfortunate to have chosen the worst weather imaginable with 62 mile an hour wind and heavy downpours. You can imagine our relief when we rode into Twitchen Farm at about 5.30pm to be warmly welcomed by Jaye and Helen. After parking our bikes in one of their barns we were shown to our comfortable rooms where hot showers were our immediate priority. After a litte rest we walked down the hill to the Black Venus and enjoyed a delicious supper, a couple of pints and a few games of pool. After a comfortable nights sleep we met for a scrumptious breakfast, said our farewells and were off to continue our bike tour.

This "Mad Dog" bike tour can highly recommend Twitchen Farm and thank Helen & Jaye for their hospitality. May 2013

Had a great family break here, us, children and grandchild plus dog, and everyone had a great time. The location is fantastic, a small village on the edge of Exmoor, very close to some great attractions and fantastic beaches. We had 2 rooms and both where plenty big enough. We stayed in the Swincombe rooms which was great for the 2 of us and our teenage son, it consisted of 2 rooms separated by a lovely large bathroom. My daughter stayed in Moles chamber which again was perfect for her and the little one.
There are some lovely walks around the farm for the dog including a short trundle to the village pub, great food and beer.
The breakfast was fantastic with some great local produce of high quality. You have to try the Hogs Pudding.
Overall a fantastic stay in a friendly farmhouse B&B, try it.   Fisher Family     Nuneaton  May 2013

Dear Helen and Jaye, just a quick E-mail to thank you for a lovely stay in the Kipscombe bedroom. Scally loved the freedom of an off-lead run in the field with the wind turbine and it was lovely that the field was escape proof so I could relax with her off the lead. I miss the wonderful breakfasts already (just had toast this morning using the bread I bought at Challacombe Post Office on the way home). Scally sends woofs and licks to Perro and Poacher. Kind regards             Sandra G and Scally.                March 2013

 
“Visit by the Railtrekkers Walking Group (26-28 October 2012)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 29 October 2012

After a long, tedious journey from Swindon (thanks to road works on the M4, M5 and North Devon Link Road), it was delightful to tumble into a warm, comfortable room - surrounded by the peace and quiet of the Exmoor countryside. The great thick walls of the farmhouse deaden all noise, so unlike the usual situation in modern hotels and guest houses.
Twitchen Farm is not the place to come if you are on a miserable, low calorie diet because one of Jaye's splendid breakfasts will soon put paid to that. And with Helen recommending evening meals at the superb Black Venus pub down in Challacombe village, any good intentions will be right out the window!
The weather on the Saturday was excellent - clear blue skies and just chilly enoigh to encourage us on an exciting 12 mile trek around Exmoor and The Chains. We saw plenty of red deer (sorry, this then encouraged me to order the venison casserole that evening), a fox, a kestrel, a buzzard and two canada geese - as well as herds of Highland and Belted Galloway cattle (trust the Scots to find a good place to visit), Exmoor ponies and sheep of all varieties.
I'll be back!                “Visit by the Railtrekkers Walking Group (October 2012)”

We booked a two night stay at this lovely farm. As soon as you turn into the driveway you know its going to be good. We brought our cocker spaniel with us and was made to feel very welcome. We stayed in the Kipscombe room which was immaculate, the bed was very very comfortable. The breakfasts were excelent and a wonderful way to start your day.
The hosts were available if you needed and very friendly but not overbearing like some are.
We ate at the Black Venus which serves good food, maybe a little pricey but good service etc etc.
As a rule we do not return to the same place but Twitchen is going to be an exception to the rule and we will be back!!!                Angela C          September 2012

We stayed here with my partner and my two children for her dads 60th birthday and I must say it was wonderful,the location is stunning with breathtaking views and the owners could not have been friendlier!!!including the very enthusiastic dogs to welcome you back every day!!!. We look forward to coming back in the future.                      The Winter Family  July 2012                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  .                                                                                                                            

 

Twitchen's stunning farm-country location is matched by the generous and warm reception from the hosts. We arrived at 8:30 on a June evening, and the host suggested that if we walked through some gorgeous lamb-filled fields, we could get to the pub at the bottom of the hill in time for dinner; I'll never forget the twilight walk. Breakfast was also memorable: a massive, tasty kipper, provided by the fishmonger husband of one of the B&B's owners. I can't imagine anyone not loving this place.                                                     Wise Party             June 2012

 This is quite a long review but I was so chuffed that Micky K took so much time to give such a lovely write of Twitchen and the area that it made me cry when I first read it. Hope you don't mind me posting it here, Jaye.                                      My partner and I needed a night away to relax and spend time together. I decided spur of the moment to go online and book a night away near to Lynton and Lynmouth as I had been wanting to take my partner there for a while now and we were not disappointed the scenery and the views were breathtaking and we had a fabulous time, welcomed by all we came across, little did we know our day was going to get even better. We arrived at the Farm and were given our key and shown to the most beautiful room with a bathroom the same size as the bedroom. Always my first problem is the heat in the room so I went straight to the window to find we were able to open it and could turn off the radiator (believe me we have had many unbearable nights when we have not been able to do this) AND we had a view. The Bed is the next problem but not here it was so comfortable and clean and soft bedding that smelt fresh, the room was clean NO dust we knew we were in for a very good nights sleep. We ventured down to the local pub The Black Venus which was extremely welcoming and felt like arriving home we were made to feel that comfortable and were not disappointed with the food generally I find my cooking is much nicer when we go out but not this time the service was excellent and so was the quality of the food. We returned back to our room to receive what was promised, a great nights sleep so peaceful and woken gently by the birds singing at 8am. Breakfast did not disappoint Helen introduced me to hogs pudding, a Sausage made with pork and barley very tasty along with the rest. Now we are home and can only silently thank all whom we have encountered over the last 24 hours that made a very much needed break very special. Cant wait to go back                            Micky K          May 2012

Dear Jaye,  I am so excited at the thought of another holiday on Exmoor.                                                                                            Looking forward to seeing you and Helen again - also Poacher and Perro.    Pat, Tadworth        May 2012

Think our 4th stay. As always our room was spotless .Such a comfy bed.Welcome relaxed atmosphere,peaceful surroundings,could not fault in anyway. Wouldnt stay anywhere else in the area. Perfect spot to explore beautiful unspoilt area.Oh and delicious breakfast!           April 2012

Stayed for one night and found the farm and surrounding area fantastic. The bed was cosy and very clean. Breakfast delicious, granola the best. The local pub food really good but get there by 7pm as tables fill up early. March 2012

Roger and Pam enjoying a bit of February sun. Roger returns to Twitchen whenever he can, usually for two or three short breaks each year. He was one of our first ever customers and so has seen the steady progress and development of the buildings and business here.                                                He tells me that he loves the peace and quiet here and relaxes straight away. And I know he has his favourite spots, fish and chips at  Lynmouth, a cycle along the Tarka Trail and on the way home a haircut at Minehead!                                                                                                                                       Great to see you again Roger           Feb 2012      Jaye                                               

Good to see you both again. Just a quick email to say we had a great weekend walking & everyone really enjoyed themselves once again. I am sensing they wish to return, either in full on snow, or Spring! We were fed & watered well at the Black Venus too, & when you next see them, please pass on the appreciation of the lads for their hospitality too. Dec 2011 Richard, Chichester

Thank you once again, we had a really nice time and enjoyed being here, see you next year. Mehmel-Janson family Germany July 2011

Certainly can't wait to visit again next year. June 2011 Nadine - Bungay

 

You are here: Home Reviews